Japan Adventures

My first trip overseas I have taken with friends without my family. It was a bit nerve wrecking. Started off strong. My dad was afraid we were going to miss our flight and dropped my friend and I off TWO HOURS before our flight was planned to take off & of course, my other friends show up with ten minutes to spare and got in through TSA just fine! Dads, ya know?

I wanted to eat everything once I got there. Everything was so delicious. We went from one ramen shop to another. I’m not a seafood kind of gal, but man was their seafood fresh. Udon. 10/10 would recommend. There was this udon restaurant that some of my friends had gone to on their previous trip. We ended up eating there twice because it was so yummy. We don’t know the name. We just knew how to get there once we got off the train. I miss it even now.

I can’t remember who wanted to go to an animal cafe but we ended up at an owl cafe. {what most of you don’t know about me is the fact that I don’t like birds, but I conquered my fears and did it anyways. When in Japan, am I right?} Included in the cost was a cute little meal and going in and holding the owls. It was terrifying for me, but now I can say I have done it.

Disney bounding as Ariel

One of the things on my bucket list is to visit all the Disneys! Luckily the girls also wanted to go to Disney Tokyo. So off we went. It was way less crowded than Disney World! We might have just lucked out and went on a day where it was less busy. I’m so glad we got to experience it. I would definitely go back if I visit Japan again.

We were making our way through all of Japan if felt like. We rented a car. One of my friends got an international drivers license and drove us around. {Wish I had gotten one too. To experience driving over there and take turns driving so she didn’t have to drive the whole time.} Beware: Tolls are expensive. We made it to Mount Fiji. It was beautiful and breathtaking. Wish we had gone when the season had cherry blossoms. What a sight that would have been. We even went to the Suicide Forest. It was kind of eerie for me to be there but it was also amazing to be in nature.

In one town we went to where barely any of the local spoke English, we immersed ourselves into the culture and ate delicious food. We even donned on traditional geisha attire. There were so many places we went to {like beaches and even a place known for the fluffy pancakes} that I’m not sure I included ’em all.

My favorite place was the Okinawa Churaumi Aquarium! If you read one of my past post, you would know how much I love aquariums and zoos. We didn’t get to spend as much time here as I would have liked {I would spend the whole day there if I could} but it was still worth it. I loved every moment of it while I was there. Recommend if you have time in your schedule when visiting.

Japan was a blast. We spent about 3 weeks there. We even went over to Korea for a few days. I’ll post about that trip sooner or later.

Travel Safely,

Jennie N.

P.S. Driving around the country was fun and we got to experience & see a lot of different things, but the bullet train got us back to Tokyo in a blink of an eye! An experience on its own.

Leave a comment